A technophobe cracks open her door

For those of you that follow Beth and ZB publications, I am the other half. The technophobic, stuck at home with her kids, background cheerleader of Beths known as Maria. My uber-patient boss-lady has been attempting to pull me slowly out my…. let’s just call it old fashioned…shell. I got left behind once the Apple II e was obsolete.  A couple of weeks ago she “mentioned” how much of a help it would be if I would do some blogging for us, locate some websites, stuff any good assistant would do easily. And I said sure, yea, no problem. That was totally a lie (luckily she knew that.) She also knows I can not resist helping anyone who asks.

 Now I have been walking around contemplating cracking open that scary, all-knowing, not just ordering from Amazon, internet door. I know how to email although I am terrible at it. My husband finally showed me how to attach pictures to emails. Which for half my people still don’t work. I can look at pictures of cute animals and make sure diapers arrive on time and cheaply. And then I hit a wall of confusion, lack of purpose and frustration. I don’t know what the internet can do for me or anyone. I am terrified I will get a virus and my pc will catch fire. That I will max out my credit card on Ebay. Or some untold scary collapse of the universe will occur if I become involved in anything interweb related. But I needed to help. Beth asked. People give me that…smirk, when I tell them I just have  an email address.

So Beth gives me an awesome surprise today. And I plainly ask her “Am I being dumb avoiding technology like I am half Amish?” Yes I am. Both her, her husband and I said at the same time.  I kinda feels odd as I sit on my couch writing this.  I am not sure if I have anything to say. If people will even find it interesting or care. If I can make the Tweets I signed up to follow go to my phone( so far no).  But I think I am seeing some fun, shiny things through the door that I am opening. I can be brave. And helpful. Wish me luck!

P.S. As I sat and typed this my son put change in our DVD player and broke it.

Leave a Reply

The Eclectic World of Christina

Author Christina Thompson

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

James Harrington's Blog of Geek and Writing

All Things Writing and Geek, in one neat little blog!

Ajoobacats Blog

Non-profit prolific reader, reviewer and blogger of books and occasionally life

World of Horror

A place for writers and book lovers

abooknation

Book reviews, recommendations and more

Corey D. Truax

Author | Editor | Father of Thor | Veteran | Military Spouse

Horror Novel Reviews

Honesty in the Terror

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Wanderess Bibliophile

“Real life was something happening in her peripheral vision.”

Three Unwise Men

A con in a podcast

poetryshack

This site is totally poetry...

MyLifeMyBooksMyEscape

A little about me, a lot about books, and a dash of something else

bookworm1102

Books, Books and More Books

Planetary Defense Command

Defending the planet from bad science fiction

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

chandleur

Bagatelle

