Top Ten Cakes

I love cake. Big ones, little ones (aka cupcakes) Cheesecakes.

Here are my favorite cakes plus where you can find the recipe or buy one if you are interested. Also you will see that I tend to modify recipes. I love coffee cake, I love it more with fruit.

1) Strawberry shortcake (It better be June or July and I need to get it at a fair or community event.)

2) Yellow Cake with chocolate frosting (This is Dennis’ favorite cake) http://www.bettycrocker.com/recipes/yellow-cake/f6965118-14cf-4ff5-ad88-9b7374d72356#/?term=Yellow+cake&pi=1&ps=10

3) Lemon cupcakes with white icing and a dollop of Lemon curd on top. (This is my friend and neighbor Cassy’s cake)
Use the same recipe as the yellow cake, but instead of vanilla extract add the juice and zest of one lemon and I use a cupcake pan. 18 minutes in the oven.

4) Trophy Cupcakes: Chocolate with Peanut Butter Icing.
My friend Rebecca brought me one the other day and it was delicious. http://www.trophycupcakes.com/

5) Cheesecake Factory’s Adam’s Peanut Butter Fudge
Creamy Cheesecake Swirled with Caramel, Peanut Butter, Butterfingers® and Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups®.
http://www.thecheesecakefactory.com/

6) Dahlia Bakery: Pear Tart. That is close enough for a cake to make my list. If they don’t have that than try their apricot cherry buckle cake http://tomdouglas.com/index.php?page=dahlia-bakery

7) German Chocolate Cake from Borracchini’s http://www.nowcake.com/

8) Brownies. Personally I love Pillsbury Traditional Fudge Brownie Mix and adding Reeses Peanut Butter Chips.
Dennis loves it when I add walnuts. We slightly underbake them for 26 minutes to make them fudgey.

9) Cinnamon Swirl Coffee Cake
http://allrecipes.com/recipe/cinnamon-swirl-bundt-coffee-cake/detail.aspx

10) Same coffee cake as nine with a seasonal fruit in the swirl. Summer is the time for nectarines, raspberries. In the fall and winter add apples, pears, etc.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Sofia Essen on September 1, 2011 at 12:36 pm

    Oh my goodness… Oh dear… Oh yummy yum yum. I’m rendered almost speechless over here, salivating over my keyboard, licking my lips. Cinnamon Swirl Coffee Cake is my personal favorite. I’m heading out right now (there’s a bakery around the corner from my place) and getting one!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

The Eclectic World of Christina

Author Christina Thompson

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

James Harrington's Blog of Geek and Writing

All Things Writing and Geek, in one neat little blog!

Ajoobacats Blog

Non-profit prolific reader, reviewer and blogger of books and occasionally life

World of Horror

A place for writers and book lovers

abooknation

Book reviews, recommendations and more

Corey D. Truax

Author | Editor | Father of Thor | Veteran | Military Spouse | Cat Owner

Horror Novel Reviews

Honesty in the Terror

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Clockwork Bibliophile

“Real life was something happening in her peripheral vision.”

Three Unwise Men

A con in a podcast

poetryshack

This site is totally poetry...

MyLifeMyBooksMyEscape

A little about me, a lot about books, and a dash of something else

bookworm1102

Books, Books and More Books

Planetary Defense Command

Defending the planet from bad science fiction

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

chandleur

Bagatelle

