Glasgow Part 1

I landed in Scotland and after an exhausting customs interview, I went outside. Though originally I planned on taking the bus, international security is pretty tight so my stuff was in disarray, my shoes still untied, and saw it was pouring so I splurged on a cab to the Guest House 1883 on Glenapp.  It is in an old tenement neighborhood, but the inside is clean and beautiful.

 

Bill welcomed me warmly. He showed me around the place and insisted I take a map.  Then I went wandering… I don’t mind the rain… I just didn’t want my stuff to be wet.

 

I wandered I was soaked looking for a welcoming place to eat lunch. I found the Pandora—a working persons pub. When I went inside, the locals joked with me and handed me a napkin to dry off my glasses.  I discovered Scotsmen are very friendly and loved that I often blushed. Not that they were being in anyway demeaning or sexual—the jesting was mostly about the fine Scottish weather and why anyone would come to Glasgow on holiday. I was a foreign oddity. I might have been a wet hobbit, fairy with bent wings or an American girl. It didn’t matter. They also said that a girl my size wouldn’t be able to handle more then two pints, they’d have to ask me to leave if I drank heavily.  I didn’t mean to stammer, but obviously did, because then they asked if they scared me away. Feeling brave, I said, I would like a pint, but I just haven’t decided. That since I wasn’t at home, I should try something new, so I ordered a smooth ale and a hot bowl of lentil soup that came with a nice chunk of bread and butter. (Yum!) Loved the soup and ate it all, I really should of asked for a half pint since I only drank half.

 

(For the Scotish reputation for drunkenness, most folks obviously were getting a pint on their way home from work. They drank it slowly, savored the flavor and then went on their way, none the worse for it. Later at the People’s Palace, I learned of the strong temperance movement in Scotland that tried to change when people drank. The idea was that drunkenness was blight upon society, but not alcohol.)

 

I sat watching people. Rick Steves says don’t tip in pubs, but since we tip in the States, I suddenly couldn’t remember if I was supposed to tip so I didn’t and was glad to see no one else did either.

 

I followed the signs to downtown and looked around at the churches. I love medieval and Victoria architecture.  I have fallen into a pattern with meals: since I am eating a fairly heavy breakfast, I eat a late lunch and then have a piece of fruit for dinner and a cup of tea prior to bed. (Pretty much, I have a kettle in my rooms.)

 

I also got lost. I blame my malfunctioning inner GPS (Guizzetti Positioning System) on the fact I was very tired. I misread a street I turned on, I thought I was on Pollokshaw, but I was on Pollokshield and so I couldn’t find Albert Street that is the main street that connects to Glenapp. I wandered around for about ten minutes and as it got darker, and everything began to look the same, I knew I couldn’t find my way back to the guesthouse. I saw a taxi coming my way and hailed him. He took me three blocks. Three blocks!

 

After such an exhausting day, cold and wet. I got into my PJ’s and into bed where I did a quick check in.

 

Day 2: The Sightseeing Saga Continues

 

The sun was shining and so I ate my breakfast and spoke briefly to Bill about the weather and museums.

I went to the People’s Palace. They have a wonderful exhibit on War and I was struck at how life changing the wars were for the people who lived through them. Not just the soilders, but the children who went through real air raids. They have an old airraid shelter for six people. It’s nothing more than a shed.

I also learned that Scotland did away with the death penalty. That women over 30 got the right to vote before all women did. Though it used to be 21, now the voting age is 18.

I went to the Cathedral and the Necropolis. Glasgow’s cathedral was not touched during the Reformation, so though it is soot covered and black it is beautiful.

I went to Pollokshaw County Park and the Burnell Collection. My favorite thing in the Burnell Collection was the archways built into the walls.

I did not get lost today. My GPS is functioning again.

 

More later, the ladies who run the bistro I am sitting at are trying to close. If I have time I will go through my photos and insert a few next time I have WIFI

 

Leave a Reply

The Eclectic World of Christina

Author Christina Thompson

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

James Harrington's Blog of Geek and Writing

All Things Writing and Geek, in one neat little blog!

Ajoobacats Blog

Non-profit prolific reader, reviewer and blogger of books and occasionally life

World of Horror

A place for writers and book lovers

abooknation

Book reviews, recommendations and more

Corey D. Truax

Author | Editor | Father of Thor | Veteran | Military Spouse

Horror Novel Reviews

Honesty in the Terror

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Clockwork Bibliophile

“Real life was something happening in her peripheral vision.”

Three Unwise Men

A con in a podcast

poetryshack

This site is totally poetry...

MyLifeMyBooksMyEscape

A little about me, a lot about books, and a dash of something else

bookworm1102

Books, Books and More Books

Planetary Defense Command

Defending the planet from bad science fiction

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

chandleur

Bagatelle

