Five Common misconceptions that people outside of indy comics have…

Misconception #1: I’m going to write a graphic novel and be rich and/or famous.

Answer: Nope, Indy comics are a grand adventure, but they will never make me rich and famous and probably not make you rich and famous either. The only reason to do an indy project is the level of artistic control on the project. If you want money, go through traditional chanels.

Misconception #2: I wrote a graphic novel, now where is my movie contract?

Answer: See my answer for the previous statement. If you want to make a movies, why are you making graphic novels?

Misconception #3: I will fight against prejudice when writing/selling my books. Or if I don’t then men will face prejudice when writing/selling books.

Answer: Nope. Indy Comics is a tight community. Every other artist and writer–male, female, or transgendered–I’ve run into has been encouraging and friendly.

The only “sexism” I have ever ran into is whiny people telling me that sexism keeps them from creating their opus. People probably won’t like to hear this, but women who want to do comics but are too chicken to pick up a pencil say, “There is a male bias.”  And from the cowardly men I have heard, “It’s easier for you because you’re a woman.” That’s BS.

It is the other person’s problem if they don’t like 30-something white women. Not mine. I draw my books, I let my artwork and writing speak for me. I make sales, because I have a good pitch and not afraid to use it!

Misconception #4: Conventions are one big party.

Sorry, folks, but I am working my butt off. They are fun so don’t get me wrong, but ever tried to spend three to five days: selling, sketching, and informing people about four different titles while trying to be funny, charming, but at the same time not bragging about the books where you have placed your very heart and soul? Welcome to my world.

My advice to have a great con: ABC: Always Be Closing and Always Bring Cookies. Also wear comfortable shoes and stand on an anti-stress mat.

Misconception #5: I don’t work. I goof off and write a few words a day and call it good. This misconception is also known as the “myth of the magic artist”

Sorry folks, but there is only one way to finish a graphic novel or anything for that matter. Work on it each day. Rework what needs to be changed. Redo that ugly panel. I work 40 hours a week as my minimum.  On a week of a major con, I work sixty to eighty hours. I don’t regret this. I love the work. I love holding the artwork in my hand and knowing that I created it. It is very rewarding, but there is no magic bullet or magic artist.

Here is a photo of me  at ECCC 2011, right before opening bell, opening day. Taken by Maria. I know it’s opening day by what I am wearing, and pre-opening bell because no one is in the hallway. You can see my 2011 catalogue by the banners behind me.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Misconception #6: People are perfectly happy to read your blog without pictures.

    Okay, that’s a half misconcep. I love your article, but dontcha wanna see a pic of that artwork? I do.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

The Eclectic World of Christina

Author Christina Thompson

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

James Harrington's Blog of Geek and Writing

All Things Writing and Geek, in one neat little blog!

Ajoobacats Blog

Non-profit prolific reader, reviewer and blogger of books and occasionally life

World of Horror

A place for writers and book lovers

abooknation

Book reviews, recommendations and more

Corey D. Truax

Author | Editor | Father of Thor | Veteran | Military Spouse

Horror Novel Reviews

Honesty in the Terror

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Clockwork Bibliophile

“Real life was something happening in her peripheral vision.”

Three Unwise Men

A con in a podcast

poetryshack

This site is totally poetry...

MyLifeMyBooksMyEscape

A little about me, a lot about books, and a dash of something else

bookworm1102

Books, Books and More Books

Planetary Defense Command

Defending the planet from bad science fiction

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

chandleur

Bagatelle

