Three Guilty Pleasures of my 35th Year

I’ve been doing a lot of serious how-to blogging lately, so I’m going to switch focus for a day and write about something else. My thirty-sixth birthday is coming up in a few weeks so I thought I would write about some things that make me happy. Not big things like being married to my husband –though he makes me happy. Or even my dogs. Or spending six weeks in the British Isles. Or getting my first novel published.

Just a few guilty pleasures. Though in all actually I feel no guilt from indulging in these things, actually I just get pleasure.

1) Driving my husband to work just so I can get breakfast at the French bakery on the next block. Now I know what you are thinking… I live in Seattle, I can get a decent cup of coffee anywhere. But you would be wrong. Coffee is only as good as the barista who makes it. Also the French bakery makes a very good quiche.

Then I get to be Dennis’s coffee fairy. I love getting him a cup of coffee and taking it up to his office. There is no reason for this–he is perfectly capable of walking across the street himself,  and I don’t hang out or say hi to one of his co-workers. I drop off the food and go. When I do this little thing for him, I feel like a “good wife,” which is completely idiotic.

2) A not-too-sweet Thai Iced tea. Yes I realize that black tea and sweetened condensed milk is going to be sweet–but if they are mixed in the correct ratios–then they are a cooling dessert drink capable of slicing trough a spicy curry or cashew chicken.

3) This is my new favorite Sandwich.  Take two slices of Boar’s Head turkey breast, two slices of ham, four slices of salami, and a slice of cheddar cheese and stuff into a hoagie roll.(I prefer the ones you get from the bakery at Fred Meyer-best if eaten same day as purchased.)
Spread with an olive tapanade (I prefer the chunky one from Trader Joes)  Stick under the broiler for 2 minutes. Take out and consume?

What are your favorite guilty pleasures?

Leave a Reply

The Eclectic World of Christina

Author Christina Thompson

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

James Harrington's Blog of Geek and Writing

All Things Writing and Geek, in one neat little blog!

Ajoobacats Blog

Non-profit prolific reader, reviewer and blogger of books and occasionally life

World of Horror

A place for writers and book lovers

abooknation

Book reviews, recommendations and more

Corey D. Truax

Author | Editor | Father of Thor | Veteran | Military Spouse

Horror Novel Reviews

Honesty in the Terror

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Clockwork Bibliophile

“Real life was something happening in her peripheral vision.”

Three Unwise Men

A con in a podcast

poetryshack

This site is totally poetry...

MyLifeMyBooksMyEscape

A little about me, a lot about books, and a dash of something else

bookworm1102

Books, Books and More Books

Planetary Defense Command

Defending the planet from bad science fiction

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

chandleur

Bagatelle

