Legos: my new form of occupational therapy

My brain was stuck for nearly two weeks on a broken record. It wasn’t even a good record. My brain told me that I was just fooling myself, that I am a terrible writer, etc. By going out and seeking reviews,  doing 3 interviews, a guest blog and asked ten more people to review the novel, I got it to stop for a little while, then it happened again…

You see this all started because I was angry of what someone said to me, but what I realized made me even angrier is that I didn’t stand up for myself.  Trying to be dignified, I pushed the evil little angry me down into the pit of my stomach. I ended up feeling like a passive loser.

Then the very next time, I saw this person. they said something else and as I did the first time, I simply ignored him.  And the record kept playing. My husband would say, I have given power to this person, but that’s not the issue. The person’s comments are irrelevant: what made me feel this way was MY response.

I didn’t know how to respond, because there is a part of me who agreed. The part that all creative people have to fight. We all hear our minds whispering: “Maybe I am a terrible untalented hack…”

During this time of my funk, I watched Six days to Air: The Making of South Park. I garnered two very important lessons from this documentary:

1) That success will not change the “this is crap” feeling towards any creative endeavor by its creator. Apparently Trey Parker and Matt Stone get depressed about their work every single episode. In fact, it sounds like even they know it is part of their process to go through a day where they feel every single thing they ever did is s***. Logic and sixteen seasons of South Park doesn’t stop them from feeling it.

2) Trey Parker talked about doing legos in order to use a different part of his brain.

He was right. When trying to put together a legos set, your mind has to be completely focused on the project. Yet, you are not making any decisions, but following directions. When I was a child, I would play with legos as a creative toy, but as an adult, I am putting together models.

Dennis has been doing the Starwars Series and I’ve been doing the Lord of the Rings Series. I did the Orc Forge, Shelob, and Weather Top. Dennis also got me Helm’s Deep and the Mines of Moria (Isn’t he such a sweet husband?) It’s like a jigsaw puzzle in a way. It shuts off everything else. It clears the mind to do what needs to be done.

So now I’m back to feeling normal. Or at least slightly less crazy.

To those of you don’t like Other Systems that’s cool, not everyone is going to like it. Write a bad review if you feel the need. Bad reviews and constructive criticism doesn’t bother me. Matter of fact, I believe any review is a good review for a new author.

However people who wrap up digs in the form of jokes and say them in crowds, knowing the digged won’t respond with anger, is a bully. Just because YOU didn’t like my book, doesn’t make me less of an author. Regardless I’m doing legos now. With my mind-shield of plastic, nothing can hurt me.

 

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Candace Knoebel on July 26, 2012 at 7:35 pm

    That is an excellent way of looking at it. The people who tend to dig at others for their accomplishments in that way, in my opinion, are simply jealous. You’ve put yourself out there and made something of yourself. You went for your dreams. I’m glad you found legos.:)

    Reply

  2. Thanks for the comment and the support, Candace,

    Reply

  3. Well, whoever it was who said these things, sounds like a pleb.

    Hope they stop things soon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

The Eclectic World of Christina

Author Christina Thompson

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

James Harrington's Blog of Geek and Writing

All Things Writing and Geek, in one neat little blog!

Ajoobacats Blog

Non-profit prolific reader, reviewer and blogger of books and occasionally life

World of Horror

A place for writers and book lovers

abooknation

Book reviews, recommendations and more

Corey D. Truax

Author | Editor | Father of Thor | Veteran | Military Spouse

Horror Novel Reviews

Honesty in the Terror

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Wanderess Bibliophile

“Real life was something happening in her peripheral vision.”

Three Unwise Men

A con in a podcast

poetryshack

This site is totally poetry...

MyLifeMyBooksMyEscape

A little about me, a lot about books, and a dash of something else

bookworm1102

Books, Books and More Books

Planetary Defense Command

Defending the planet from bad science fiction

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

chandleur

Bagatelle

