New Year Resolutions

I wanted to roll myself in blankets with Rosie.

Rosie’s Resolution is to stay in the snuggle zone.

Once again, I would like to say something poignant and meaningful, but instead I’m starting the New Year sitting on my couch with Rosie snuggled up beside me with Tycho on the top of his crate behind me just like last year. I am sipping espresso as I got a Starbucks Verismo this year in October. I love that little machine. Once Dennis gets up, I will make some eggs with cheese and a side of bacon. It is one of our favorite breakfasts.

I have two resolutions this year

1) Exercise: Every Monday through Friday morning, I need to exercise. I enjoy doing aerobics. I just need to get off my bum and do them. That’s the hardest part for me. This resolution will be the hardest for me to keep. I need to do this before I take Dennis to work, because if I take Dennis to work, I get dressed. If I get dressed I won’t do it.  As you can tell, I am really good at making excuses of why I don’t have time to exercise.

2) Balance my work and the time I spend with my friends and family better. I need to keep my focus on everything I have to be grateful for — not what I think I should be accomplishing (specifically this refers to my book sales, how many reviews I have, etc, my teeny tiny royalty checks.) I have a great husband, a nice condo and two dogs. Though we could stand to lose a few pounds, we are both fairly healthy. I come from a fantastic loving family. I can always call my parents. I have wonderful friends and neighbors. These are the things I should focus on, but at times I take them for granted.

So there are my resolutions, what are yours?

Happy New Year!

12 responses to this post.

  1. I think i should make an effort to exercise too. I’ve certainly put weight on over the festive period.

    Reply

    • I put on weight over the course of the past few years with my sweet tooth and the lack of exercise due to my lifestyle –and writing specifically is part of that.

      Reply

  2. I have but one resolution: Beat. This. Cancer.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Candace Knoebel on January 1, 2013 at 7:43 pm

    My resolutions are pretty much the same. I’ve slacked on my exercise the last couple of months. lol. I am very good at excuses too…:)

    Reply

  4. Definitely the exercise thing. I write all day for work and write all night for fun. That doesn’t leave a lot of time for moving, so I need to get on that 🙂

    Reply

    • I am in the same boat exactly, Michelle! Writing and drawing all day and night with little breaks for walking the dogs, eating, watching top chef is hard on the body. 🙂

      Reply

  5. Posted by Sheila Guizzetti on January 1, 2013 at 11:26 pm

    Sounds good to me.

    ________________________________

    Reply

  6. Posted by Mariann on January 3, 2013 at 9:41 pm

    Good luck, I know you are driven and can do them both. As for my resolutions… like you I find it easy to make excuses but I have picked two things that are doable.
    1. Finish a writing project (at this point I’d settle for any.)
    2. Get in shape. I turn 40 this year, and I feel like I went to seed this past year mainly due to stress and the natural depression that results from death in the family. So ya, working out most days would be a great first step for me to.

    Reply

    • Good luck Mariann,
      1) I hope you finish your dinosaur project. I am looking forward to reading it.
      2) Also 40 or not, you look great. Still since exercising helps everyone, you should do it. It also helps with the creative blocks.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

The Eclectic World of Christina

Author Christina Thompson

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

James Harrington's Blog of Geek and Writing

All Things Writing and Geek, in one neat little blog!

Ajoobacats Blog

Non-profit prolific reader, reviewer and blogger of books and occasionally life

World of Horror

A place for writers and book lovers

abooknation

Book reviews, recommendations and more

Corey D. Truax

Author | Editor | Father of Thor | Veteran | Military Spouse

Horror Novel Reviews

Honesty in the Terror

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Clockwork Bibliophile

“Real life was something happening in her peripheral vision.”

Three Unwise Men

A con in a podcast

poetryshack

This site is totally poetry...

MyLifeMyBooksMyEscape

A little about me, a lot about books, and a dash of something else

bookworm1102

Books, Books and More Books

Planetary Defense Command

Defending the planet from bad science fiction

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

chandleur

Bagatelle

