What I listen to when I create Faminelands

Like many artists and authors, I listen to music while I am working. I cannot listen while I am editing or talking to my characters, but every other step is set to music. I also find sometimes when I want to write a specific scene sometimes music that has the same feeling helps me write.

LarkmapsksHowever generally, while I am writing or drawing panels, I listen to Cold Play We have every album they put out so that’s quite a list. I also like The Bravery, Maximo Park, Radio Head, or Muse.

Sometimes I just listen to The Bravery Station on Pandora.

Now when I am coloring, I need faster music. Yet something with a story. I listen to Billy Idol Cyber Punk and his self titled album, Deltron 30,30 Juno Reactor quite a bit.

Now when I am lettering, I need soft music. And it is genera specific. Since Faminelands is fantasy, I need ambient techno such as Single Cell Orchestra. or I need celtic music such as  Clannad or Talizman They are a local band that I heard at Folk Life Festival.

I know others like music when they are working, what do you listen to?

5 responses to this post.

  1. This will probably sound a little strange, but under no circumstances can i listen to music when i write. I find that it distracts me too much and before i know it, i’ve written the song lyrics down on the page!

    I do often find that music can inspire me though 🙂

    Reply

  2. I can’t listen to music with words while I am writing or I will end up typing what I am singing along with:) Kudos to you though for having the skill to be a talented multi-tasker!

    Reply

    • Interesting that neither of you listen to music. Actually one of the reasons I listen to music when I write is to block out other sounds. I live in a large apartment building in the city. People slam doors, dogs bark, landscapers work outside my window, firetrucks, police cars, etc. The music is a wall so I can ignore other things!
      Thanks for commenting!

      Reply

  3. I can’t work with something going on. I listen to the sound of silence. Maybe if I were coloring, but not otherwise.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

The Eclectic World of Christina

Author Christina Thompson

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

James Harrington's Blog of Geek and Writing

All Things Writing and Geek, in one neat little blog!

Ajoobacats Blog

Non-profit prolific reader, reviewer and blogger of books and occasionally life

World of Horror

A place for writers and book lovers

abooknation

Book reviews, recommendations and more

Quintessential Editor

To those about to read, we salute you.

Horror Novel Reviews

Honesty in the Terror

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Clockwork Bibliophile

“Real life was something happening in her peripheral vision.”

Three Unwise Men

A con in a podcast

poetryshack

This site is totally poetry...

MyLifeMyBooksMyEscape

A little about me, a lot about books, and a dash of something else

bookworm1102

Books, Books and More Books

Planetary Defense Command

Defending the planet from bad science fiction

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

chandleur

Bagatelle

