Where were you on 9/11?

While I asked this on Facebook too, I think I’m going to change gears today and ask a question unrelated to writing. Where were you on 9/11? Did it change the way you look at the world?

(Even If you aren’t from the States or just a kid or ?, please still feel free to answer this question if 9/11 effected you. And please everyone remain civil.)

My answer is very domestic. I was getting my carpet cleaned.

My husband, had just left for work, called and asked me to look at the news because all he heard was a little snippet about the borders had closed. The carpet cleaner didn’t realize it was an attack yet. He had just heard of a terrible accident in NY–but they don’t close borders for accidents–so I turned on the news. This stranger and I watched the it unfold as he cleaned my carpets. He left. I spent the rest of the day, drawing or writing with the TV on, listening for new information, but much of it was repeating. Dennis came home.

While, it did not change how I looked at the world, the event gave me insight to the fact not everyone loves Americans. Still young and idealistic, I hoped it would open up an international dialogue to change the world for the better. (Seriosuly, I had only ever heard of a Jihad because of Dune) A friend told me that the American response would be an automatic war. History proved him correct.

Leave a Reply

The Eclectic World of Christina

Author Christina Thompson

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

James Harrington's Blog of Geek and Writing

All Things Writing and Geek, in one neat little blog!

Ajoobacats Blog

Non-profit prolific reader, reviewer and blogger of books and occasionally life

World of Horror

A place for writers and book lovers

abooknation

Book reviews, recommendations and more

Corey D. Truax

Author | Editor | Father of Thor | Veteran | Military Spouse

Horror Novel Reviews

Honesty in the Terror

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Clockwork Bibliophile

“Real life was something happening in her peripheral vision.”

Three Unwise Men

A con in a podcast

poetryshack

This site is totally poetry...

MyLifeMyBooksMyEscape

A little about me, a lot about books, and a dash of something else

bookworm1102

Books, Books and More Books

Planetary Defense Command

Defending the planet from bad science fiction

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

chandleur

Bagatelle

