5 Reasons Why I’m self publishing The Grove…

People are already asking me why I’m self publishing The Grove. They are digging for dirt. Sorry, but there is no dirt. Nor have I “changed” sides since I have self published comics in the past.

As many of you know, I have two novels, Other Systems and The Light Side of the Moon, published by a small press, 48Fourteen.  I have no industry horror stories. I have nothing negative at all to say about my publishing experience. It was great. I loved working with 48Fourteen.

Look I get it. Some people love being published. Some people love to self publish. I am not going to get into the argument of which is better. I am of the opinion that both published authors and self-published authors can co-exist and compliment each other. Some of the best panels I’ve been on as an author have had both, because we see different parts of the industry.

So on to my reasons:

The Grove BlogReason 1)  The Grove is not for 48Fourteen. (I didn’t even send it to them, because cosmic horror is so far out of their wheelhouse.)

Reason 2) I am controlling the timing. As I’ve said, it will release on e-book and paperback September 13, 2016.

Reason 3) I want to experience each component of the post production book creation process. In traditional publishing, the publisher takes the financial and time risk for the book creation.

Reason 4)  More information coming my way during the marketing campaign. Yes, I am doing a TON more work and taking the risk, but I am curious if I can figure out what works and what doesn’t. Whether my next book is traditionally published or self published, my goal is to gather information so I can use my time and resources more wisely.

Reason 5)  Gnomes.

 

2 responses to this post.

  1. reason #5 is the most compelling 😉 Just joking. Good in you for self publishing. I want to stick with publishers because I barely have time to write, let alone publish. They can do many things that I either don’t want to do, or don;t have time to do or can’t do. I like the idea of controlling the timing, but it isn’t enough to sway me.

    Reply

    • I hear you! I’ll admit when I go back to traditional publishing, I will never have complain about anything in the publishing process ever again after this experiment 😉 I think its great you know and are doing what is best for you and your writing career.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

The Eclectic World of Christina

Author Christina Thompson

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

James Harrington's Blog of Geek and Writing

All Things Writing and Geek, in one neat little blog!

Ajoobacats Blog

Non-profit prolific reader, reviewer and blogger of books and occasionally life

World of Horror

A place for writers and book lovers

abooknation

Book reviews, recommendations and more

Corey D. Truax

Author | Editor | Father of Thor | Veteran | Military Spouse

Horror Novel Reviews

Honesty in the Terror

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Clockwork Bibliophile

“Real life was something happening in her peripheral vision.”

Three Unwise Men

A con in a podcast

poetryshack

This site is totally poetry...

MyLifeMyBooksMyEscape

A little about me, a lot about books, and a dash of something else

bookworm1102

Books, Books and More Books

Planetary Defense Command

Defending the planet from bad science fiction

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

chandleur

Bagatelle

